Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

So, I joined Pinterest tonight.

I know, I know … there aren’t very many dudes jumping on the Pinterest bandwagon.  But I’m a social media junkie with an eye for design and a thirst for inspiration, so I think that it’s worth the shot.

All of it got me thinking, why do I do this?

If I’m honest, I sink a lot of time into social media.  It’s not like I don’t have better things to do.  I’m often over-extended and too busy; and live a pretty active , “real” social life.  I spend my down time working with my hands, working out, or trying to challenge myself in some way.  So, it’s not like I’m on social media because I’m bored.

I am definitely not bored.

Are there times when all the social media-ing (is that a word?  no?  oh.  let’s pretend it is.) gets in the way and becomes distracting?  Yes, absolutely.  Do I need to be more intentional about spending time away from the social media glitz?  Yes, definitely.  Are there times when I need to put down my phone, shut the laptop, and just exist?  Yes.

But I believe that there is real, tangible, substantial value to being active on social media.  For me, it started when I freelanced for a marketing company specializing in social media and it grew into an art.  An art that I love to help coach and share.

So, here’s why I tweet, facebook, instagram, and pin (and why you should, too):

  • To see the world differently.  Instagram and Pinterest are amazing windows into how the world is viewed through other people’s eyes.  Twitter gives a unique glimpse into a person’s most responsive and reactive thoughts.  Social media allows us to look through windows into imaginative and new worlds.
  • To build relationships with people I normally wouldn’t have the chance to meet.  Facebook is amazing for this, because almost everyone is on it.  It’s easy to begin a conversation, and becomes more natural to extend it.  Facebook is a great place to meet new people.
  • To LISTEN.  Social media is a great place to find different viewpoints.  It’s also a place where people are passionately reactive, where people rant, and where people give their unedited opinions.  That makes it a great place to listen.  To hear about other people’s stories.  To understand better about someone different’s point of view.  Don’t just talk on social media.  Listen.
  • To collaborate.  Social media is flooded with difference makers, creatives, and influential thinkers.  The best part?  We’re all on a level playing field.  If your idea is interesting enough (it is), and you are bold enough (you are), the potential for collaborating with other amazing people is remarkable.
  • To figure out my brand.  By allowing myself to leverage social media for the above purposes, I learn more fully the niche that my writing and skills fill. I gain a better understanding of my market and their interests and needs.  That helps me to be a better writer.

One last thing:  It’s easy to be someone you aren’t on-line.  Don’t do that.  The internet doesn’t take kindly to fakes.  Be brave enough to be extraordinarily you.  Invest in your tribe, listen well, and collaborate often.  Don’t drive by and degrade, or simply post about how awesome you are.  Contribute to other’s conversations and invest in the lives of those you follow.

Comment Question:  Why are you on social media?